English Triple Crown

The English Triple Crown Series was the event that pioneered the international Triple Crown phenomenon. The term Triple Crown entered the British horse racing scene in 1853, the year thoroughbred West Australian emerged victorious from three of the most coveted races on the horse racing calendar: the 2000 Guineas Stakes, the Epsom Derby and the St. Leger Stakes. This unprecedented winning streak so impressed the racing community that Western Australian was awarded the first ever Triple Crown Trophy, a prize that would rise rapidly to cult status.

The British Triple Crown Series owes its success to a large extend to the quality of the three individual races which make up the cup.

The 2000 Guineas Stakes is run at Newmarket Racecourse in late April to early May. It is a flat race over one mile, perfectly suited for Newmarket's infamous Rowley Mile track. The 2000 Guineas was the last of the three Triple Crown races to come into existence, with its inaugural running taking place in 1809.

The Epsom Derby takes place at Epsom Downs Racecourse and runs over a distance of 1 mile, 4 furlongs and 10 yards. It is one of the British summer horse races, hosted annually in June since 1780, and is considered the most important of the English Classic Races. The most famous athlete to ever compete at the Epsom Derby was jockey Lester Piggott, who won the race an incredible 9 times between 1954 and 1983.

The St. Leger Stakes is the longest running race of the series, having been inaugurated in 1776 at Doncaster Racecourse where is still hosted today. The distance is 1 mile, 6 furlongs and 132 yards; a testing distance for the last race in an extraordinary series. The St. Leger Stakes, which is run in September, is also part of the English Classic Races and one of the oldest continuously running races in the country.

These three extraordinary events culminate into one of the most coveted trophies of the season. However, the title is not easily won and a horse has to run three perfect races in quick succession in order to call itself a Triple Crown champion. Since the first winner in 1853, there have only been 14 Triple Crow winners; a statistic which is testament to the level of horse racing involved and the skill and talent required to achieve this feat. Successful Triple Crown winners, such as prolific trainer John Porter, jockey sensations Lester Piggott and Fred Archer, and equine overachievers like Nijinsky II , are sure to be remembered long after they have retired from the sport.

English Triple Crown Champions:

Year Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1970 Nijinsky II Lester Piggott V. O'Brien Charles W. Engelhard, Jr.
1935 Bahram Freddie Fox Frank Butters HH Aga Khan III
1918 Gains -borough Joseph Childs Alec Taylor, Jr. Lady James Douglas
1917 Gay Crusader Steve Donoghue Alec Taylor, Jr. Alfred W. Cox
1915 Pommern Steve Donoghue Charles Peck Solly Joel
1903 Rock Sand Danny Maher G. Blackwell Sir James Miller
1900 Diamond Jubilee Herbert Jones Richard Marsh Edward, Prince Of Wales
1899 Flying Fox Morny Cannon John Porter Duke of Westminster
1897 Galtee More Charlie Wood Sam Darling John Gubbins
1893 Isinglass Tommy Loates James Jewitt Harry McCalmont
1891 Common George Barrett John Porter Sir Frederick Johnstone
1866 Ormonde Fred Archer John Porter Duke of Westminster
1865 Gladiateur Harry Grimshaw T. Jennings, Sr. Frederic de Lagrange
1853 West Australian Frank Butler John Scott John Bowes