Cheltenham November Meeting GET TIPS

Paddy Power Gold Cup

The Paddy Power Gold Cup is a Grade 3 National Hunt race, held annually in Mid-November at Cheltenham Racecourse. The race takes place on the Old Course at the Cheltenham racing facility and runs over a distance of two miles and 4 ½ furlongs. The starters have to negotiate fifteen fences over this gruelling course.

Introduced to the National Hunt scene in 1960, the Paddy Power Gold Cup was originally known as the Mackeson Gold Cup, courtesy of the the-race sponsor, Mackeson Stout Beer. Mackenson discontinued its sponsorship in 1995, allowing Murphy's to take over in 1996, followed by Thomas Pink from 2000 to 2002. Bookmaking giant Paddy Power took over the sponsorship of the Gold Cup in 2003.

The Paddy Power Gold Cup is open to horses aged four and older and awards a purse of £150,000 to the lucky victor. Throughout the race's history there have been only a handful of contender to manage this feat more than once: Fortria, Gay Trip, Half Free, Bradbury Star and Cyfor Malta were the only horses to win the Paddy Power Gold Cup twice. And let's not forget jockey Tony McCoy, the single most successful rider ever to take the reins in this event. McCoy rode four winners - including one win on double-winner Cyfor Malta - at the Paddy Power Gold Cup, leaving his mark on the race for good.

Recent Winners Of The Paddy Power Gold Cup:

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer

Tranquil Sea


Andrew McNamara

Edward O'Grady


Imperial Commander


Paddy Brennan

Nigel Twiston-Davies




Graham Lee

Ferdy Murphy


Exotic Dancer


Tony McCoy

Jonjo O'Neill


Our Vic


Timmy Murphy

Martin Pipe