Get Our Royal Ascot Tips Here READ MORE

Your concise guide to the International Stakes

The International Stakes is the most anticipated event of the Ebor Festival, held annually at York Racecourse. The Ebor Festival is held in August, making the most of the last days of the gorgeous Yorkshire Summer. The International Stakes, which is the richest race to be run at York Racecourse, is open to thoroughbred horses aged three and over and runs over a distance of one miles, two furlongs and eighty-eight yards. The purse for the International Stakes is currently valued at £600,000, which is by far the most valuable prize money available at any race held at York Racecourse.

International Stakes Explained

The event is relatively new, compared to the races on the British horse racing calendar which date back for centuries, having been established in 1972. The concept for the International Stakes was developed by Major Leslie Petch, who worked as a Clerk of Course at York Racecourse. In 1972, when the race finally premiered, Petch was no longer working in the position. The first series of the International Cup was sponsored by Benson and Hedges, causing the race to be widely known as the Benson and Hedges Gold Cup. The first running of the International Stakes immediately produced a historic event when Roberto raced to victory, leaving Brigadier Gerard to scramble to second place - this was the only defeat Brigadier Gerard suffered in his entire career.

After a brief period, from 1985 to 1989 the International Stakes were known as the Matchmaker International, after the bloodstock company Matchmaker took over sponsorship. In 1989 the sponsorship changed again, to the current sponsor Juddmonte Farms, turning the International Stakes into the Juddmonte International.

Recent Winners Of The International Stakes

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2010 Rip Van Winkle

Johnny Murtagh

Aidan O'Brien


2009 Sea The Stars

Michael Kinane

John Oxx


2008 Duke Of Marmalade

Johnny Murtagh

Aidan O'Brien


2007 Authorized

Frankie Dettori

Peter Chapple-Hyam


2006 Notnowcato

Ryan Moore

Sir Michael Stoute


2005 Electrocutionist

Michael Kinane

Valfredo Valiani