Cheltenham November Meeting GET TIPS

Your concise guide to the Golden Jubilee Stakes

The Golden Jubilee Stakes is the final Group 1 race to be staged in the context of the Royal Ascot Festival, which takes place at Ascot Racecourse every June. Since it was inaugurated in 1868 the Golden Jubilee Stakes have been known by many different names. The original title of the race was the All-Aged Stakes, which was changed in 1926 to the Cork And Orrery Stakes. The new name was chosen in honour of the 9th Earl of Cork, a prominent figure in the 19th century. It was not until 2002 that the flat race was renamed the Golden Jubilee Stakes, in commemoration of Queen Elizabeth II 'Golden Jubilee'. It was the same year that the event was promoted to Group 1 status.

Golden Jubilee Stakes Explained

The Golden Jubilee Stakes are a sprint race, held over six furlongs. Since 2005 the event is part of the Global Sprint Challenge, which has resulted in contenders from all over the world travelling to Ascot to take a shot at international sprinting fame. The Jubilee Stakes are currently the last event of this new three race series, it is preceded by the King's Stand Stakes and the July Cup. The race is open to thoroughbred horses of both genders aged three years and older, who compete for the tantalising purse of £450,000.

Recent Winners Of The Golden Jubilee Stakes

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2010 Starspangled-banner

Johnny Murtagh

Aidan O'Brien


2009 Art Connoisseur

Tom Queally

Michael Bell


2008 Kingsgate Native

Seb Sanders

John Best


2007 Soldier's Tale

Johnny Murtagh

John Best


2006 Les Arcs

John Egan

Tim Pitt


2005 Cape Of Good Hope

Michael Kinane

David Oughton