We've Signed Bryony Frost READ MORE

All About Betting on the Falmouth Stakes

The Falmouth Stakes is hosted on the July Course at Newmarket. Appropriately, it is held in early July and runs over one mile of turf. The Falmouth Stakes is sponsored by QIPCO and is a part of the British Champions Series Fillies and Mares category of Group 1 events ranging from a mile to middle distance.

These races are exclusively open to female thoroughbreds. In addition to the Falmouth Stakes, other races in this category that are open to horses aged three and up include the Qatar Nassau Stakes, Yorkshire Oaks and British Champions Fillies & Mares Stakes.

A Breakdown of the
Tattersalls Falmouth Stakes

The Falmouth Stakes is a straight mile event held on the 'Bunbury Mile' section of the July Course at Newmarket. This race is open exclusively to Group 1 fillies and mares that are at least three years of age. The weight requirement for each varies depending on age. Thoroughbreds that are three years of age must carry 8 stones-12 pounds, whereas, the older horses must carry 9st-7lbs.

fact file

location: July Course at Newmarket Racecourse

grade: Group 1 Fillies and Mares

race type: Flat race

The History Behind This 'Girls Only' Mile

Established in 1911, the Falmouth Stakes was named after the 6th Viscount Falmouth, Evelyn Boscawen who bred and owned race horses in the 19th century and won 16 English Classics in his career. The race entry was originally restricted to three-year-old fillies only, but there have been a number of changes since then.

When the grading system was introduced in 1971, the Falmouth Stakes was recognized as a Group 3 event. It was elevated to a Group 2 race in 1987, and in 2004 it was finally declared a Group 1 event. Between 1975 and 1992, the Falmouth Stakes were referred to as the 'Child Stakes' named after the race sponsor, Child's Bank.

Since 2004, the Falmouth Stakes have been the feature event on the second day of Newmarket's July Festival which runs for three days in mid-July.


Since 1911, the Falmouth Stakes has seen its fair share of record-setting, thoroughbreds, trainers, owners and jockeys (as of 2017).

  • After almost 100 years, only two horses have managed to win the race more than once. The first is Sonic Lady, who took the win in 1986 and 1987 while the race was still a Group 3 event. The last was Soviet Song in 2004 and 2005 shortly after the Falmouth Stakes achieved Group 1 status.

  • The horse with the record for fastest time is Alice Springs with a time of 1 minute and 34.42 seconds in 2016.

  • As seems to be the case with a lot of Group 1 races, the most successful jockey is the amazing Lester Piggott who won the Falmouth Stakes seven times between 1957 and 1994.

  • Both Sir Henry Cecil and Michael Stoute have five wins apiece making them both the most successful trainers in modern times.

  • The thoroughbred with the most career wins to ever run in the Falmouth Stakes is 2009's Goldikova with 17 victories from 2007 to 2011.

Best Moments

Despite its Group 2 and Group 3 status until 2004, this race has hosted several top-class thoroughbreds that have also competed in prestigious Group 1 events. Below we have a few of the very best to ever run in the Falmouth Stakes (as of 2017).

jockey racing horse
  • One of the most notable fillies to run the race is the 1983 winner Royal Heroine. This filly inspired the institution of the Royal Heroine Stakes, which is a mile race held each year in Santa Anita Park (United States), when she set a record time in the first ever running of the Breeders' Cup Mile in 1984.

  • The 2009 winner, Goldikova's Falmouth victory kick-started a four winning streak of Group 1 races for that year including the Prix Rothschild, Prix du Haras de Fresnay-Le-Buffard Jacques Le Marois, and TVG Breeders' Cup Mile. Her career record of 17 wins from 27 starts makes her arguably the best mare to run in the Falmouth Stakes. 15 of these were Group 1 victories. This mare won over seven million over the course of her career and is currently honoured in the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame.