A Complete Guide to the 1000 Guineas Stakes

The 1000 Guineas is one of the traditional five 'English Classic' races and is certainly one of the oldest. The race is for Group 1 fillies only, and so this means that only the best female, 3-year-old horses can run in the race. The race itself takes place on the famous "Rowley Mile" race track in late April or early May.

When combined with the Oaks and St Leger, it also forms the less commonly known "Fillies Triple Crown." This is specific to fillies, because, only female horses may participate in the 1000 Guineas and Oaks Stakes.

A Breakdown of
the Race

The Rowley Mile Course consists of good-firm turf and stretches just over two miles long. It requires horses to turn right-handed before entering a straight when they reach just past the mile mark. As this particular race is only a mile long, it is considered to be run along a straight course.

Winter, ridden by Lordan and trained by O'Brien, won the latest race with a time of 1m 35.66sec. This was O'Brien's fourth win of the 1000 Guineas since 2005 and his second consecutive win after 2016's victory with Minding.

fact file

location: Randiwck Racecourse

grade: Group 1 three-year olds

race type: Flat

Historic Moments of the 1000 Guineas

The 1000 Guineas was first run in 1814 and so has a 200-year history behind it. Sir Charles Bunbury directed and oversaw this race as well as the Derby which allows both colts and fillies.

This race is just one of five considered to be 'English Classic' horse races. The Derby, 2000 Guineas and St Leger make up the Triple Crown and allow both colts and fillies to run. Both the 1000 Guineas and Oaks Stakes only allow fillies to compete. All were established within mere decades of each other in the early 19th century.

The prize money has steadily increased over the years. It currently stands at around half a million pounds, and the next winner will be awarded over 50% of the total prize. Listed below are the winners of the past decade.


Over the course of 200+ races, history has been made on the Rowley Mile. Even amongst champions, some winners have stood above the others. Have a look at some of the top, record-breaking moments in 1000 Guineas history (as of 2017) .

  • Ghanaati, the 2009 winner, still holds the record for fastest winning time of 1m 34.22 sec.

  • In 1918, Ferry won despite odds of 50/1 which are the steepest beaten by a winning filly in the history of the race.

  • Robert Robson trained 9 winners from 1818-1827 making him the most successful trainer to date.

  • George Fordham had 7 wins from 1859-1883 giving him legendary status amongst jockeys.

Best Moments

There are record-breaking moments, and then there are the most memorable record-breaking moments of all time (as of 2017) .

jockey racing horse
  • In 1902, Scepter won the 1000 Guineas, Oaks, 2000 Guineas and St. Leger. She didn't win the official Triple Crown as she came in fourth at the Derby, however, her impressive winning streak of 4 of the 5 English Classic races arguably makes Scepter one of the most memorable 1000 Guineas winners of all time. Even after a century, no filly has bested Scepter's legacy.

  • More recently, Henry Cecil trained 6 winning participants in the 1000 Guineas, from 1979-1999, making him one of the most dominant trainers in modern times.