Scottish Champion Hurdle

The Scottish Champion Hurdle is a Grade 2 Hurdle Race held annually in April at Scotland's Ayr Racecourse. The race is conducted over a distance of two miles, and features a total of nine hurdles. The Scottish Champion Hurdle is currently held as a limited handicap race and is open to horses aged four and older.

In 1966, the year the Scottish Champion Hurdles was introduced to the Scottish jump racing calendar, the event was classified as a Listed race. It was not until 1991 that the by then well-established fixture was elevated the Grade 2 level. Traditionally, the Scottish Champion Hurdle is held the day before the Scottish Grand National at Ayr; however, there have been exceptions, like the Scottish Champion Hurdle in 1994, which took place on the same day as the Scottish Grand National.

The two most successful jumpers to take on the Scottish Champion Hurdle are Sea Pidgeon and Bird's Nest, who both managed to record two wins at the event; Sea Pidgeon ran to victory in 1977 and 1978, Bird's Nest repeated the feat in 1979 and 1981. Human legends of the event include Andrew Turnell, Richard Dunwoody and Peter Scudamore, who rode three winners each since the Scottish Champion Hurdle was inaugurated.

Recent Winners of the Scottish Champion Hurdle:

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer




Timmy Murphy

Donald McCain


Noble Alan


Davy Condon

Nicky Richards


Border Castle


Mr Nick Scholfield

Andrew Haynes




David Casey

Charlie Swan


Noble Request


Richard Johnson

Philip Hobbs




Tony McCoy

Peter Bowen logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 - All Rights Reserved.