Queen Mother Champion Chase

The Queen Mother Champion Chase is a Grade 1 National Hunt Chase held annually in March during the Cheltenham Festival at Cheltenham Racecourse. The race features twelve fences over a distance of two miles. The Queen Mother Champion Chase is established as the top minimum-distance hurdling event in the United Kingdom, awarding a purse of whopping £320,000 and allowing entry to horses aged five years and over.

This fixture was inaugurated in 1959 under the name of the National Hunt Two-Mile Champion Chase. It was not until 1980, the year the Queen Mother celebrated her 80th birthday, that the event was given its current name in honour of the much-loved monarch. Until 2007 the Queen Mother Champion Chase was not a corporately sponsored race; however, since then Seasons Holidays has become the proud sponsor of the prestigious event.

The most successful jump horse in Queen Mother Champion Chase history is Badsworth Boy, who ran three consecutive winning races from 1983 to 1985. The record-winning jockey of the race is still the legendary Pat Taaffe, who rode five winners at the Queen Mother Champion Chase between 1960 and 1970. The fact that records like Taaffe's and the wins of Badsworth Boy remain untouched for decades can be seen not only as a testament of their outstanding sportsmanship and talent, but also as a sign for the tremendous grade of difficulty of the race itself.

Recent Winners of the Queen Mother Champion Chase:

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer


Finian's Rainbow


Barry Geraghty

Nicky Henderson


Sizing Europe


Andrew Lynch

Henry de Bromhead


Big Zeb


Barry Geraghty

Colm Murphy


Master Minded


Ruby Walsh

Paul Nicholls


Master Minded


Ruby Walsh

Paul Nicholls


Voy Por Ustedes


Robert Thornton

Alan King




Andrew J. McNamara

John Joseph Murphy


Moscow Flyer


Barry Geraghty

Jessica Harrington

HorseRacing.co.uk logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 HorseRacing.co.uk - All Rights Reserved.