Cheltenham Gold Cup

The Cheltenham Gold Cup is an iconic Grade 1 National Hunt Chase hosted annually in March, as highlight of the Cheltenham Festival at Cheltenham Racecourse. The race includes twenty-two notoriously difficult fences over a distance of 3 miles and 2 ½ furlongs and is open to horses aged five and older.

This race is the single most prestigious National Hunt event hosted in the United Kingdom; spectators and racing professionals anticipate the running of the Cheltenham Gold Cup for months, observing the preliminary races and preparing the finest jumpers their stables have to offer. The Cheltenham Gold Cup is deeply rooted in UK racing history, being first run - albeit as a flat race - in 1819 before being converted to a jump race in 1924.

Since 1924 the Cheltenham Gold Cup has been run practically without interruptions, aside from a handful of natural disasters and a racing break during the second World War. It is considered the ultimate test for National Hunt stayers and awards a purse of £475,000 to the lucky winner; as well as a guaranteed place in the National Hunt history books.

As National Hunt horses often compete until they have reached their double digits, multiple wins at the Cheltenham Gold Cup are not too rare. However, one horse stands out as the most successful Cheltenham Gold Cup contender of all time: Golden Miller, an Irish bay gelding, won the Cheltenham Gold Cup five times consecutively from 1932 to 1936, making his owner Dorothy Paget the most successful owner in the race's history.

The Cheltenham Gold Cup is very much a meeting place for the season's greatest steeplechase contenders. Jockeying greats like Pat Taaffe and Tommy Carberry made myth for past generations; new talents like Ruby Walsh and Jim Culloty are continuing to carry the torch for the sport in general and this outstanding event in particular. If you are looking for National Hunt racing of the highest order, the Cheltenham Gold Cup is as far as you need to go.

Recent Winners of the Cheltenham Gold Cup:

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer




Tony McCoy

Jonjo O’Neill


Long Run


Sam Waley-Cohen

Robert Waley-Cohen


Imperial Commander


Paddy Brennan

Nigel Twiston-Davies


Kauto Star


Ruby Walsh

Paul Nicholls




Sam Thomas

Paul Nicholls


Kauto Star


Ruby Walsh

Paul Nicholls


War Of Attrition


Conor O'Dwyer

Mouse Morris


Kicking King


Barry Geraghty

Tom Taaffe logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 - All Rights Reserved.