Betfair Chase

The Betfair Chase is by far the most outrageous steeple chase to take place at Haydock Park Racecourse. Although it is officially registered as the Lancashire Chase it is commonly referred to by its sponsorship name only. This race was introduced to the racing calendar in 2005 and it is truly a race for the new generation. Running over the gruelling distance of three miles and littered with eighteen fences - all of them notorious for their high levels of difficulty - the Betfair Chase is guaranteed to deliver breathtaking action every time.

Originally the Betfair Chase was part of an incentive by the bookmaker Betfair called the Betfair Million. This format required a horse to win the Betfair Chase, the King George VI Chase and the Cheltenham Gold Cup in order to qualify for a £1 million bonus. However, this incentive was dropped after the first few years of the running of the Betfair Chase - which has done nothing to diminish the popularity of this outstanding racing event.

The Betfair Chase takes place at Haydock Racecourse and is scheduled every year in mid-November. It is classified as a Grade 1 National Hunt Chase - a status it claimed instantly upon its inauguration. The prize up for grabs in the Betfair Chase as a stand-alone event is worth £200,000 - £112,660 of which go directly to the winner.

Almost as soon as the Betfair Chase burst onto the scene legend in the making Kauto Star has dominated this particular event with three wins since 2006.

Recent Winners of the Betfair Chase:

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer


Kauto Star


Ruby Walsh

Paul Nicholls


Snoopy Loopy


Ben Gordon

Peter Bowen


Kauto Star


Sam Thomas

Paul Nicholls


Kauto Star


Ruby Walsh

Paul Nicholls




Robert Walford

Robert Alner

T&Cs Apply

New customer offer. Place 5 x £10 or more bets to receive £20 in free bets. Repeat up to 5 times to receive maximum £100 bonus. Min odds 1/2 (1.5). Exchange bets excluded

Full terms logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 - All Rights Reserved.