Dubai World Cup

The Dubai World Cup is a relatively new addition to the world of international thoroughbred racing. The event was inaugurated in 1996 and is held annually in March at Dubai's Meydan Racecourse. The Dubai World Cup is the brainchild of Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, the head of Godolphin Racing and Darley Stud. Considering the Sheikh's passion for the equine sport it comes as no surprise that the Dubai World Cup is not a stand-alone race but part of one of the world's most glamorous and extravagant race meetings, the Dubai World Cup Night Of Races.

Run over the distance of about ten furlongs, the Dubai World Cup awards a purse of $10 million, in keeping with the grandness rightly associated with all social and sporting events taking place in the glorious city of Dubai. It is open to thoroughbreds aged four and older.

In keeping with the glamour theme, the first ever Dubai World Cup was won by a legend of the track: Cigar, proud member of the United States Hall Of Fame. Ten years later, in 2006, the Dubai World Cup became the first race to be shown on national television in the United States. However, interest in this battle of international thoroughbred talent spread across the globe. Whether or not they can follow the event live, punter all over the world hold their breaths when it is time for the Dubai World Cup - perhaps the most multicultural celebration of equine sports.

Recent Winners of the Dubai World Cup:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time


Gloria de Campeao

T J Pereira

Pascal Bary



Well Armed

Aaron Gryder

Eoin G Harty




Robby Albarado

Steve Asmussen




Fernando Jara

Kiaran McLaughlin




Frankie Dettori

Saeed Bin Suroor


T&Cs Apply

New customer offer. Place 5 x £10 or more bets to receive £20 in free bets. Repeat up to 5 times to receive maximum £100 bonus. Min odds 1/2 (1.5). Exchange bets excluded

Full terms logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 - All Rights Reserved.