Sun Chariot Stakes

The Sun Chariot Stakes are the last of three Group 1 races staged during the Cambridgeshire Meeting, which is a three day flat racing event held at Newmarket Racecourse. It is run on the famous Rowley Mile, over the full one mile distance, as a flat race open to thoroughbred fillies and mares aged three and older. The Cambridge Meeting takes place in late September or early October, and the Sun Chariot Stakes are reserved as the feature race of the festival's final day.

When the race was introduced in 1966, it was open for entry to three-year-old fillies only, and ran over a distance of one mile and two furlongs. The new race for the young female equine contenders was named in the honour of Sun Chariot, the winner of the 1942 Fillies' Triple Crown. In this particular year all three races of the Fillies' Triple Crown - the 1,000 Guineas Stakes, the Epsom Oaks and the St. Leger Stakes - were held at Newmarket Racecourse, as many of the other courses were requisitioned as ideal locations to aid the British war effort during World War II.

It was not until 2004 that the Sun Chariot Stakes were elevated to Group 1 status. Today it is one of the most exciting races to be held during the Cambridge Meeting, with an impressive purse of £200,000 up for grabs. Throughout the history of the race, only one horse ever managed to achieve more than on Sun Chariot Stakes victory; Free Guest set the precedent in 1984 and 1985.

Recent Winners of the Sun Chariot Stakes:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time



Ted Durcan

Rod Collet



Halfway To Heaven

Seamus Heffernan

Aidan O'Brien



Majestic Roi

Darryll Holland

Mick Channon



Spinning Queen

Michael Hills

Barry Hills




Kevin Darley

Sir Michael Stoute

1:38.81 logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 - All Rights Reserved.