Sprint Cup

The Sprint Cup is one of the highlights of the flat racing at Haydock Park Racecourse. Established in 1966, this Group 1 event has become something of a signature race for the racecourse. The race, which was originally open to two year old horses and older, was conceptualised by Robert Sangster, who would become a prolific breeder and owner of thoroughbred race horses. At the time of the inauguration of the Sprint Cup, Sangster was the heir to a flourishing business, Vernon Pools, which would become the race's sponsor for the first years of it running.

As the name suggests, the Sprint Cup is run over the sprint distance of six furlongs. It is held annually in September; although the original race was contested in November until the date was changed in 1979. Currently the Sprint Cup is open to thoroughbred horses aged three and older - however, the racing age changed several times throughout the history of the race; juveniles were last excluded in 1994. One of the more valuable races held at Haydock Park Racecourse, the Sprint Cup is worth £275,000 in combined prize money; which makes it one of the fiercest contest of the Haydock season.

Since the race was established, only one horse managed to win the Sprint Cup more than once; Be Friendly raced to victory in 1966 and 1967. The title of most successful jockey is shared by four extraordinary athletes; Lester Piggott, Pat Eddery, Willie Carson and Bruce Raymond won three sprint cups each during their long and illustrious careers.

Recent Winners of the Sprint Cup:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time



Pat Cosgrave

Henry Candy



Regal Parade

Adrian Nicholls

David Nicholls



African Rose

Stephane Pasquier

Criquette Head-Maarek



Red Clubs

Michael Hills

Barry Hills




Kevin Darley

Eric Alston




Jamie Spencer

David Loder


HorseRacing.co.uk logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 HorseRacing.co.uk - All Rights Reserved.