Racing Post Trophy

The Racing Post Trophy is the final Group 1 event of the British Flat Racing season. It is held at the historical Doncaster Racecourse annually in late October, as the feature race of the Racing Post Trophy Meeting. It is a juveniles- only event, open to two-year-old colts and fillies only. It is run over one mile and is valued at a total purse of £200,000. The Racing Post Trophy is a relatively new addition to the British racing calendar, having been established in 1961.

This event has been known by a number of names. It was originally known as the Timeform Gold Cup, as it was founded by Phil Bull, the man who established the Timeform formula to rate race horses' performances. The Timeform organisation maintained sponsorship for the event until 1964. When The Observer took over sponsorship in 1965, the race became known as the Observer Gold Cup, and it was under this name that the race was classified as a Group 1 event when the rating system was introduced in 1971. Bookmaker William Hill became the race's new sponsor in 1976 and the name was changed to the Futurity Stakes. Since 1989 the event has been known as the Racing Post Trophy, in honour of the current sponsor The Racing Post.

Recent Winners of the Racing Post Trophy:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time


St Nicholas Abbey

Johnny Murtagh

Aidan O'Brien



Crowded House

Jamie Spencer

Brian Meehan



Ibn Khaldun

Kerrin McEvoy

Saeed Bin Suroor




Frankie Dettori

Peter Chapple-Hyam



Palace Episode

Neil Callan

Kevin Ryan

1:45.10 logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 - All Rights Reserved.