Prince Of Wales's Stakes

The Prince of Wales's Stakes was established in 1862, as a tribute to the Prince of Wales who would be crowned to become King Edward VII. The original event was run until 1939 and was open to thoroughbred horses aged three only. With the advance of WWII the racing in the United Kingdom was largely suspended and the racing at the Prince of Wales's Stakes home course, Ascot Racecourse, was no exception. When racing finally resumed in 1946 the Prince of Wales's Stakes were not reintroduced, as there was at the time no actual Prince of Wales. However, the event was resurrected in 1968, just one year before the investiture of Prince Charles. The new event was set at the current length of one mile and two furlong and was opened to thoroughbred horses aged three and over.

Today the Prince of Wales's Stakes is one of the numerous Group 1 events held in the course of the Royal Ascot Festival, which takes place every year in June at the fabulous Ascot Racecourse. The purse of this race is set at £450,000 worth of prize money. It has been classified as a Group 1 event since 2000, when the age limit of the contenders was raised again, opening the race to thoroughbreds aged four and over only.

Recent Winners of the Prince Of Wales's Stakes:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time



Maxime Guyon

André Fabre



Vision D'Etat

Olivier Peslier

Eric Libaud



Duke Of Marmalade

Jonny Murtagh

Aidan O'Brien




Stephane Pasquier

Andre Fabre



Ouija Board

Olivier Peslier

Ed Dunlop




Michael Kinane

John Oxx

2:08.15 logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 - All Rights Reserved.