Nunthorpe Stakes

The Nunthorpe Stakes is another feature race of the four-day Ebor Festival, held every August at York Racecourse. The event takes its name from the region of Nunthorpe, which is located north of York Racecourse. An early version of the Nunthorpe Stakes was introduced in 1903; however, it was a 'selling race'. This type of race sees a number of low to medium quality horses competing - and the winner of the race is auctioned off amongst spectators and other contenders' connections. In 1922 the race was officially launched in its current format, which saw it elevated to Group 1 status almost instantly.

Open to thoroughbreds aged two and over, the Nunthorpe Stakes is a sprint race over five furlongs, a short and furious contest. It is one of very few races in the United Kingdom that allows juvenile horses to compete against adult contenders; although it is rare that a juvenile triumphs over the more experienced athletes. The first juvenile to race to victory in the Nunthorpe Stakes was 1953s winner High Treason; since then there have been rare repeat performances of this, including Lyric Fantasy in 1992 and Kingsgate Native in 2007.

Since the race was established, two horses have achieved the amazing feat of winning three consecutive runnings of the Nunthorpe Stakes; Tag End who won in 1928, 1929 and 1930, and the legendary Sharpo, who dominated in 1980, 1981 and 1982. Lester Piggott, quelle surprise, holds to this day the title of winningmost jockey in the Nunthorpe Stakes; winning seven races between 1958 and 1978.

Recent Winners of the Nunthorpe Stakes:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time


Sole Power

Wayne Lordan

Edward Lynam




Neil Callan

Robin Bastiman




Pat Cosgrave

Robin Bastiman



Kingsgate Native

Jimmy Quinn

John Best




Kevin Darley

Eric Alston



La Cucaracha

Michael Hills

Barry Hills

0:56.82 logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 - All Rights Reserved.