Nassau Stakes

The Nassau Stakes is an integral part of the Glorious Goodwood meeting. The festival takes place in late July and early August, and the Nassau Stakes is reserved for the last of these five days of racing. It is open to fillies and mares aged three and over and runs over a distance of one mile, one furlong and 192 yards.

The race was inaugurated in 1840 and was named to honour the connection between the House of Orange-Nassau and the 5th Duke of York, who owned the Goodwood Racecourse at the time. The original race was open only to three-year-old fillies and measured only one mile. In 1900 it was lengthened to 1 ½ miles; the current length of about 1 ¼ was introduced in 1911. It was not until 1975 that the race accepted entries of fillies and mares aged four and over, which lifted the level of competition immensely. In 1999 the race was declared a Group 1 race after having been classified as Group 2 since the classification system came into fruition in 1971. The prize money for the Nassau Stakes are currently at £200,000.

In over 150 years of running only two horses ever achieved more than one win at the Nassau Stakes; Roussalka won in 1975 and 1976, Ruby Tiger took the lead in 1991 and 1992. The title of most successful jockey is also a shared honour; Nat Flatman and Sir Gordon Richards both rode six winners at the Nassau Stakes, from 1842 to 1859 and 1933 and 1951 respectively.

Recent Winners of the Nassau Stakes:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time



Tom Queally

Henry Cecil




Tom Queally

Henry Cecil



Halfway To Heaven

Johnny Murtagh

Aidan O'Brien



Peeping Fawn

Johnny Murtagh

Aidan O'Brien



Ouija Board

Frankie Dettori

Ed Dunlop



Alexander Goldrun

Kevin Manning

Jim Bolger

2:08.02 logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 - All Rights Reserved.