Lockinge Stakes

The Lockinge Stakes are a relatively new race. It was inaugurated in 1958 and has since been run annually at Newbury Racecourse. Every May the race is held over a one mile distance, it is open to thoroughbreds of both sexes aged four years or older. Originally the Lockinge Stakes were open to three-year-old thoroughbreds as well; the age restrictions were imposed in 1995.

Until the age limit was altered to four years and older, the Lockinge Stakes was not considered the prestigious race it is today. When the grading system was introduced in 1971 the race was classed as a Group 2 event. However, in 1983, it was actually degraded and declared a Group 3 race - only to be returned to Group 2 status two years later in 1985. It wasn't until the change of age limit in 1995 that the Lockinge Stakes was classified as a Group 1 race, elevating it to the ranks of the most anticipated and valuable races on the United Kingdom racing calendar. It is run on turf and offers a purse of £250,000.

Since it was introduced into the racing scene the Lockinge Stakes has been entered by some of the most iconic jockeys and horses of our time. The legendary Pall Mall, Welsh Pageant and Soviet Line, for example, are the only three horses to win the Locking Stakes twice respectively. Jockey Lester Piggott, who was one of the first celebrities of the racing world, to this day holds the records of the most Lockinge Stakes wins - racing to victory six times between 1960 and 1993.

Recent Winners of the Lockinge Stakes:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time


Paco Boy

Richard Hughes

Richard Hannon




Jimmy Fortune

John Gosden




Frankie Dettori

Saeed Bin Suroor



Red Evie

Jamie Spencer

Michael Bell




Kieren Fallon

Sir Michael Stoute




Philip Robinson

Michael Jarvis


HorseRacing.co.uk logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 HorseRacing.co.uk - All Rights Reserved.