Falmouth Stakes

The Falmouth Stakes are hosted at Newmarket Racecourse - or, more specifically, on the July Course. Appropriately it is held in early July and runs over one mile on turf. The race is open to thoroughbred fillies and mare aged three years or older, who compete for Group 1 glory and a purse of £200,000.

Established in 1911, the Falmouth Stakes was named after the 6th Viscount Falmouth, Evelyn Boscawen, who bred and owned race horses in the 19th century. When it was first introduced the race entry was restricted to three-year-old fillies only, but there have been a number of changes since. When the grading system was introduced in 1971 the Falmouth Stakes was recognised only as a Group 3 event. It was elevated to a Group 2 race in 1987, in 2004 it finally was declared a Group 1 event. Between 1975 and 1992 the Falmouth Stakes were referred to as the Child Stakes, named after the race sponsor, Child's Bank. Since 2004 the Falmouth Stakes are the feature event on the first day of the July Festival, which runs for three days in early July at Newmarket Racecourse.

After almost 100 years of running, only two horses have managed to win the race more than once: Sonic Lady took the win in 1986 and 1987, and Soviet Song who raced to victory in 2004 and 2005. As it seems to be the case with a lot of Group 1 races, the winningmost jockey is the amazing Lester Piggott, who won the Falmouth Stakes seven times between 1957 and 1994.

Recent Winners of the Falmouth Stakes:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time


Music Show

Richard Hughes

Mick Channon




Olivier Peslier

Freddy Head




Frankie Dettori

Mark Johnston



Simply Perfect

Johnny Murtagh

Jeremy Noseda




Kerrin McEvoy

Clive Brittain



Soviet Song

Johnny Murtagh

James Fanshawe


HorseRacing.co.uk logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 HorseRacing.co.uk - All Rights Reserved.