Epsom Oaks

The Epsom Oaks is a Group 1 flat race for three-year-old fillies that is run at Epsom Downs as part of the Investec Derby Festival in late May or early June every year. The Epsom Oaks is one of the five English Classic races and together with the 1000 Guineas and St Leger Stakes forms the Fillies Triple Crown. The Oaks was first run in 1779 – one year before the first ever running of the Epsom Derby – and has become a predecessor for Oaks races all around the world such as the Irish Oaks and AJC Oaks.

The Epsom Oaks is run over a distance of one mile, four furlongs and ten years making it a tough staying test for three-year-old fillies. Although they are both Group 1 races the prize pool for the Epsom Oaks is significantly smaller than that of the Epsom Derby but winning connections still receive a cheque for £207,842.15.

The most successful trainer in the history of the Epsom Oaks is the legendary Robert Robson who trained the winner of the race on thirteen occasions from 1802 to 1825. In recent years Sir Henry Cecil has an excellent record in the Oaks and has trainer the winner on seven occasions. In the last thirteen years thirteen different jockeys have ridden the winner of the Epsom Oaks – a testament to the openness of the race and the quality of British jockeys.

Two of the greatest horses in Epsom Oaks history are Sun Princess and Intrepidity. In 1983, Sun Princess destroyed a quality field to win the race by twelve lengths, the largest winning margin in the history of the Epsom Oaks. Sun Princess proved her quality by going on to win the Yorkshire Oaks and St. Leger Stakes. Although Intrepidity only won four of her twelve career starts she produced a career best performance to win the 1993 Epsom Oaks in a race record time of two minutes and thirty-four seconds. The 2013 Epsom Oaks will be held on the 31st of May. The current favourite in Epsom Oaks betting markets is Aidan O’Brien-trained Moth who impressed with a fast finishing effort in the 1000 Guineas. She is followed in the betting market by Liber Nauticus, Just The Judge and Hot Snap.

Recent Winners of the Epsom Oaks:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time



Seamie Heffernan

Aidan O'Brien



Dancing Rain

Johnny Murtagh

William Haggas



Snow Fairy

Ryan Moore

Ed Dunlop




Jamie Spencer

Michael Bell



Look Here

Seb Sanders

Ralph Beckett



Light Shift

Ted Durcan

Henry Cecil




Kieren Fallon

Aidan O'Brien




Richard Hills

Michael Jarvis


HorseRacing.co.uk logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 HorseRacing.co.uk - All Rights Reserved.