Epsom Derby

The Epsom Derby is a Group 1 flat race for three-year-old horses that is run at Epsom Downs in early June every year. The Epsom Derby is one of five English Classic races and together with the 2000 Guineas and St Leger Stakes forms the Triple Crown. The Derby is considered the most prestigious of the English Classics and is the richest horse race in the United Kingdom with a prize pool of £1,325,000.

The Epsom Derby is the second leg of the Triple Crown and comes after the 2000 Guineas and before the St Leger. The race was first conducted in 1780 and has been an important part of the UK racing calendar ever since. The Epsom Derby is the original Derby race and there are now versions of the race in a number of countries around the world such as the Kentucky Derby and the Victoria Derby.

The most successful jockey in the history of the Epsom Derby is Lester Piggott who rode nine winners of the race from 1954 to 1983. Piggott's most famous victory was on Nijinsky who claimed the Triple Crown in 1970 – the last horse to have done so. Robert Robson, John Porter and Fred Darling are the equal most successful trainers in Epsom Derby history with seven winners each. As the richest horse race in the United Kingdom, the Epsom Derby always draws a very strong field and thus has been won by some of the greatest colts in history. Famous winners include: Nijinsky (1970), Mill Reef (1971), Troy (1979), Shergar (1981), Galileo (2001), Sea the Stars (2009), Workforce (2010) and Camelot (2012). Because of its history, quality fields and pageantry the Epsom Derby is one of the most popular horse races in the world. The 2013 Epsom Derby will be run on the 1st of June. The 2013 Epsom Derby antepost betting market has already been released with Telescope, Battle of Marengo, Mars, Toronado, Dawn Approach and Kingsbarns all considered leading contenders.

Recent Winners of the Epsom Derby:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time



Joseph O'Brien

Aidan O'Brien



Pour Moi

Mickael Barzalona

Andre Fabre




Ryan Moore

Sir Michael Stoute



Sea The Stars

Michael Kinane

John Oxx



New Approach

Kevin Manning

Jim Bolger




Frankie Dettori

Peter Chapple-Hyam



Sir Percy

Martin Dwyer

Marcus Tregoning




Johnny Murtagh

Peter Chapple-Hyam


HorseRacing.co.uk logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 HorseRacing.co.uk - All Rights Reserved.