Dewhurst Stakes

The Dewhurst Stakes are an annual flat racing event, held in October at Newmarket Racecourse; as a feature race on Champion's Day, the second day of Newmarket's Champions Meeting. It is an event restricted to two-year-old thoroughbred colts and fillies; who race for glory over seven furlongs on Newmarket's well-known Rowley Mile. It is a valuable race of £300,000 and exciting enough to ensure high numbers of spectators even on the last day of a festival. It is the most valuable race for juvenile thoroughbreds.

Tom Gee, owner of a Dewhurst Stud, founded the race in 1875. It was originally known as the Dewhurst Plate. In its first four years of action, the Dewhurst Stakes produced one English Classics Champion after the other. All winners of the inaugural years - Kisber, Chamant, Pilgrimage and Wheel Of Fortune - went on to win one or more of the five Classic Races. The most recent Dewhurst Staked contender to achieve this feat was 2008 Dewhurst champion New Approach, who went on to win the Epsom Derby after his winning performance at Newmarket.

As no equine athlete receives a second chance to run in the Dewhurst Stakes, the records of this particular races were established by the human contenders rather than the animal stars. The ever-present, ever-glorious Lester Piggott recorded no less than ten wins at the Dewhurst Stakes between 1956 and 1982. The title of leading trainer is a shared affair in the case of this race; John Porter and Franks Butters trained eight winners each between 1884-1898 and 1927-1946 respectively.

Recent Winners of the Dewhurst Stakes:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time



Ryan Moore

Aidan O'Brien



Intense Focus

Kevin Manning

Jim Bolger



New Approach

Kevin Manning

Jim Bolger




Kevin Manning

Jim Bolger



Sir Percy

Martin Dwyer

Marcus Tregoning

1:26.52 logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 - All Rights Reserved.