Coronation Cup

The Coronation Cup is a Group 1 flat race that is held during the Investec Derby Festival for horses aged four years or older. The Coronation Cup was first run in 1902 and has developed into one of the leading races for former Derby and Oaks horses. The race has received a significant prizemoney boost for 2013 and is expected to be contested by some of the world's best mile and a half horses.

The Coronation Cup is run over the distance of one mile, four furlongs and ten yards – the same distance as the Epsom Oaks and Epsom Derby. The race is run fairly early in the season and is often used as a launching point for horses that will contest the King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Stakes later in the year.

In recent years the Coronation Cup has been dominated by Irish trainer Aiden O'Brien who has prepared the winner of the race six times in the last eight years. Andre Fabre has also won the race on six occasions with his last victory coming with Shirocco in 2006. Legendary jockey Lester Piggott is the most successful rider in Coronation Cup history, winning the race on nine occasions from 1953 to 1983.

The Coronation Cup has proven a very difficult race to win on multiple occasions with only Pretty Poll (1905 and 1906), The White Knight (1907 and 1908), Petite Etoile (1960 and 1961), Triptych (1987 and 1988), Warrsan (2003 and 2004) and St Nicholas Abbey (2011 and 2012) able to win the race back to back.

The 2013 Coronation Cup will be run on Saturday June 1st and is expected to feature a cracking field with several of the top rated horses nominated for the race. St Nicholas Abbey will be aiming to become the first horse to win the Coronation Cup on three occasions but will face strong competition from World Number One Ranked Cirrus Des Aigles, 2011 Melbourne Cup winner Dunaden, St Leger winner Encke and classy mare Was.

Recent Winners of the Coronation Cup:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time


St Nicholas Abbey

Ryan Moore

Aidan O'Brien



St Nicholas Abbey

Joseph O’Brien

Aidan O'Brien



Fame And Glory

Johnny Murtagh

Aidan O'Brien




Ryan Moore

Sir Michael Stoute



Soldier Of Fortune

Johnny Murtagh

Aidan O'Brien




Michael Kinane

Aidan O'Brien




Christophe Soumillon

Andre Fabre




Kieren Fallon

Aidan O'Brien

2:36.98 logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 - All Rights Reserved.