Champion Stakes

The Champion Stakes are the Group 1 feature race scheduled on the final day of the Champions' Meeting held at Newmarket Racecourse. It is one of a small number of races which has never been changed in any way since being established in 1877; the format, age of entry and distance of the race have remained the same from the first race - won by Springfield - until today.

The event is run on the Rowley Mile over a distance of one mile and two furlongs. It is open to thoroughbred three-year-olds and older of both sexes, who compete for a total purse of £350,000. As the Champion Stakes are part of the Champions' Meeting, they are hosted annually in October. Today the Champion Stakes is one of the most anticipated open-age race of the autumn season. In 2009 it was made a stable part of the Breeders' Cup Challenge - meaning that the winner of the Champion Stakes earns automatic entry to compete in the Breeders' Cup Turf.

The most successful horse to ever compete in the Champion Stakes was the prolific Tristan, one of horse racing's first equine super stars. Tristan won the Champion Stakes three consecutive times in 1882, 1883 and 1884 - and remains the only horse to achieve this to date.

Recent Winners of the Champion Stakes:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time


Twice Over

Tom Queally

Henry Cecil



New Approach

Kevin Manning

Jim Bolger




Christophe Lemaire

Jean-Claude Rouget




Christophe Lemaire

Alain de Royer-Dupre



David Junior

Jamie Spencer

Brian Meehan

2:05.43 logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 - All Rights Reserved.