Cesarewitch Handicap

The Cesarewitch Handicap is a famous British flat race hosted annually at Newmarket Racecourse in mid-October. The race is open to thoroughbred race horses aged three years and older and runs over a distance of two miles and two furlongs. Although the better part of the Cesarewitch - as it is known simply in the racing community - takes place on Newmarket's regular race course, the final mile is run on the racecourse's infamous Rowley Mile, lending some historical flavour to this great event.

The Cesarewitch was inaugurated in 1839 and has been running continually ever since. It is named for Tsesarevich Alexander, who became later known as Tsar Alexander II, who made a generous donation of £300 to the Jockey Club - quite a gesture in the early 1800s. The Cesarewitch forms the well-known Autumn Double in alliance with the Cambridgeshire Handicap, which was founded the same year.

With almost 200 years of history behind the Cesarewitch it is no surprise that the race has seen its fair share of horse racing legends. Superstar jockey Lester Piggott rode several winners in the Cesarewitch, including John Cherry in 1976 and Popsi's Joy in 1980. However, the most successful Cesarewitch jockey of all time is currently Doug Smith, who rode six winners at the event between 1939 and 1966, including French Design and Persian Lancer.

The Cesarewitch makes for an especially thrilling event because it usually sports a huge field of runners. The maximum number of starters allowed on the track in an impressive 34 - making the Cesarewitch one of the highlights during Newmarket's Champion's Day.

Bet365 have the latest Antepost odds for the 2010 Cesarewitch Handicap - head to our dedicated Cesarewitch Odds page for details of runners and early prices.

Recent Winners of the Cesarewitch Handicap:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time


Darley Sun

Andrea Atzeni

David Simcock




Eddie Ahern

Nicky Henderson



Leg Spinner

Johnny Murtagh

Tony Martin



Detroit City

Jamie Spencer

Philip Hobbs



Sergeant Cecil

Alan Munro

Rod Millman


HorseRacing.co.uk logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 HorseRacing.co.uk - All Rights Reserved.