Ascot Gold Cup

The Ascot Gold Cup is an integral part of the Royal Ascot Festival that is hosted annually at the Ascot Racecourse in June. The official title of the race is the 'Gold Cup' but the Ascot reference is added to relieve any confusion with the numerous other Gold Cup races at racecourses across the country.

The Ascot Gold Cup was established in 1807, making it one of the oldest races in the United Kingdom. From its inaugural staging the Gold Cup has been run over a distance of two miles and four furlongs and is the feature staying race of the Royal Ascot Festival, drawing some of the best stayers from all over the world. The race is the richest for British stayers with the prize pool for the 2013 edition of the race £350,000

The Gold Cup is the first leg of a series of races known as the British Stayers' Triple Crown; which is completed by the Goodwood Cup and the Doncaster Cup. The last horse to complete the Triple Crown was Double Trigger in 1995.

The most successful horse in the history of the Ascot Gold Cup is legendary Irish stayer Yeats who won the race on four straight occasions from 2006 to 2010. Although he never managed to win the Melbourne Cup Yeats is considered one of the greatest European stayers of all time. Other great stayers to win the Gold Cup include: Fighting Charlie (1965 and 1966), Sagaro (1975, 1976 and 1977), Ardross (1981 and 1982) and Drum Taps (1992 and 1993).

Legendary jockey Lester Piggott had a phenomenal record in the Gold Cup and won the race on eleven occasions from 1957 to 1982. Henry Cecil, Saeed Bin Suroor and Aidan O’Brien have all trained the winner of the race five times.

The 2013 Ascot Gold Cup is expected to draw a strong field with former winners Rites of Passages and Colour Vision headlining the field. The two geldings are currently on top of the 2013 Ascot Gold Cup betting market but there is a great deal of interest around The Queen’s horse Estimate.

Recent Winners of the Ascot Gold Cup:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time


Colour Vision

Frankie Dettori

Saeed bin Suroor



Fame and Glory

Jamie Spencer

Aidan O'Brien



Rite Of Passage

Pat Smullen

Dermot Weld




Johnny Murtagh

Aidan O'Brien




Johnny Murtagh

Aidan O'Brien




Micheal Kinane

Aidan O'Brien




Kieren Fallon

Aidan O'Brien




Olivier Peslier

Elie Lellouche

4:19.49 logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 - All Rights Reserved.