1,000 Guineas Stakes

5th May 2013

The 1,000 Guineas Stakes is restricted to three-year-old fillies and is run at Newmarket Racecourse in late April or early May every year. The historic race serves as the premier race of two intertwined racing series; the English Classic Races (or English Classics) and the Fillies' Triple Crown. The Classics are comprised of five races: the 1,000 Guineas Stakes, 2,000 Guineas Stakes, Epsom Oaks, Epsom Derby and St Leger Stakes. The 1,000 Guineas Stakes, Epsom Oaks and St. Leger Stakes all combine to form the Fillies’ Triple Crown.

The 1,000 Guineas is the second classic of the year and is held the Sunday after the 2,000 Guineas Stakes. The race was first run in 1814 and has been one of the premier races of the British Racing season for well over 150 years. The current prize pool of £350,000 makes it the equal richest race restricted to fillies in the United Kingdom.

The most successful trainer in 1,000 Guineas history is Robert Robson who dominated the early stagings of the race. Incredibly, from 1818 to 1827 Robson trained the winner of the race on nine occasions with the 1824 event, won by Cobweb, his only hiccup. In more recent times Sir Henry Cecil has been the leading 1,000 Guineas trainer and has won the race on six occasions with his last triumph coming with Wince in 1999.

The Nell Gwyn Stakes and the Fred Darling Stakes are the most important lead-up races for the 1,000 Guineas but recently fillies have generally tackled the race as the first run of their campaign. The 1,000 Guineas betting market is always very interesting as favorites have tended to struggle in the race and the past two winners have saluted at double figure odds.

The 2013 1,000 Guineas is expected to be a very open affair. Henry Cecil-trained Hot Snap is the current favorite in 1000 Guineas betting markets but is closely followed by Just The Judge, What A Name, Sky Lantern and Moth.

Recent Winners of the 1,000 Guineas Stakes:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time


Homecoming Queen

Ryan Moor

Aiden O'Brien



Blue Bunting

Frankie Dettori

Mahmood Al Zarooni



Special Duty

Stephane Pasquier

Criquette Head-Maarek




Richard Hills

Barry Hills




Christophe Lemaire

Pascal Bary



Finsceal Beo

Kevin Manning

Jim Bolger




Michael Fenton

Pam Sly



Virginia Waters

Kieren Fallon

Aidan O'Brien


HorseRacing.co.uk logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 HorseRacing.co.uk - All Rights Reserved.