Ruler of the World Lays Down Epsom Derby Challenge

Aidan O’Brien-trained Ruler of the World proved his credentials as a leading 2013 Epsom Derby contender with an impressive victory in the Chester Vase yesterday.

Ruler of the World was far too good for the rest of the field and strode clear when asked for an extra effort by jockey Ryan Moore to score by six lengths.

Moore was very impressed with the performance and said he excited about the Derby prospects of the son of Galileo but acknowledged he faced a tough task against 2000 Guineas winner Dawn Approach.

“He did it nicely,” Moore said.

“He’s still babyish but he stayed on really well when the penny dropped.

“He handled this place all right, and he’ll be in the Derby mix.

“This horse would have no problem with the trip, that’s not to say that the favourite [Dawn Approach] won’t either.

“He looks quite a rock-solid horse at the minute.”

Ruler of the World’s victory continued the stellar record Aidan O’Brien has in the Chester Vase and he has now trained four of the last seven winners.

Ruler of the World is now on the fourth line of the 2013 Epsom Derby betting market at Bet365 Bet365 behind Dawn Approach, Battle of Marengo and Telescope.

Dawn Approach is the raging favourite for the race after his impressive victory in the 2000 Guineas and is currently available at Epsom Derby odds of 13/8.

Battle of Marengo is also out of the O’Brien stable and scored a comfortable victory at his last start in the Group 3 Ballysax Stakes.

The son of Galileo will run in the Derrinstown Stud Derby Trial at Leopardstown on Saturday.

Lightly raced Telescope is yet to make his return to the races this season but is expected to run in the Group 2 Dante Stakes at York next Thursday.

You can find the best 2013 Investec Derby odds at Bet365 Bet365.

Horse Racing UK News Archives


HorseRacing.co.uk logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2016 HorseRacing.co.uk - All Rights Reserved.