Bin Suroor to Take Over Al Zarooni Stable

Leading Godolphin trainer Saeed Bin Suroor will take over the stable of suspended trainer Mahmood Al Zarooni.

However, the British Horse Racing Authority will not issue a license for the stable and no horses will be allowed to run until drug tests results are returned and the BHA confirms all horses are clean.

British Horse Racing Authority Director of Integrity, Legal and Risk Adam Brickell released a statement yesterday outlining the conditions for the relicensing of the yard.

“We have informed Saeed Bin Suroor and Godolphin that the BHA will not be relicensing the yard until the test results are known for all the Godolphin-owned horses stabled in Newmarket,” Brickell said.

“Under the rules of racing, upon the approval of any licence for the establishment, no horses at Moulton Paddocks will be permitted to run for a period of 14 days.”

A statement on the Godolphin website confirmed that Bin Suroor will continue to train the horses at the major Godolphin stables at Newmarket.

“The role is in addition to Saeed Bin Suroor’s responsibilities for horses based at Godolphin Stables in Newmarket,” the statement read.

“The test results for horses at Moulton Paddocks are still awaited and there will be no runners from there until they are all known.”

Bin Suroor has always been one of the busiest trainers in British racing but this will take his workload to an unprecedented level as almost 200 additional horses will be under his care.

Bin Suroor has been the number one Godolphin trainer since 1995 and has trained the winner of over 100 Group 1 winners all around the world.

The forty-six-year-old is the most successful trainer in the history of the Dubai World Cup; the Premio Vittorio di Capua; the King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Stakes and the Queen Anne Stakes.

Horse Racing UK News Archives


HorseRacing.co.uk logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2016 HorseRacing.co.uk - All Rights Reserved.