Rock on Ruby Heads Champion Hurdle Trial Entries

Rock on Ruby is one of several big name horses that are set to contest the Champion Hurdle Trial that will be held at Doncaster on Monday.

The meeting was created to cover for the host of abandonments in recent weeks and the connections of nineteen horses have taken the opportunity to give their horses a run before the 2013 Cheltenham Festival.

The track at Doncaster is in good condition and according to clerk of the course Roderick Duncan will be perfect for racing on Monday.

“The ground is drying out nicely after all the snow and rain,” Duncan said.

“It is currently soft, good to soft in places and the he forecast is quite good and we should have some nice ground next week.

“We’re really pleased to be staging what could well be a great race.”

The prospect of good ground was enough for Harry Fry, trainer of Rock on Ruby, to commit his star gelding to the race.

“We don’t know what the ground is going to be like at Wincanton and the Doncaster race fits in perfectly timing-wise ahead of Cheltenham,” Fry said.

Leading Champion Hurdle contender Darlan was scheduled to run in the Contenders Hurdle at Sandown on Saturday but with that race now unlikely to go ahead may clash with Rock on Ruby earlier than expected.

Nicky Henderson-trained Grandouet, who has not run since he finished second behind Zarkandar in the International Hurdle in Cheltenham, is expected to take part in the race to get some much need racing fitness before the Champion Hurdle.

Countrywide Flame, who finished a disappointing fourth behind Darlan in the Grade 1 Christmas Hurdle, was also entered for in what will be his last hit out before the Champion Hurdle.

You can get the best odds for the Champion Hurdle Trial and every other race this weekend at Bet365 Bet365.

Horse Racing UK News Archives


HorseRacing.co.uk logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2016 HorseRacing.co.uk - All Rights Reserved.