Coral Eclipse Stakes

The Coral Eclipse Stakes is a Group 1 race that is held at Sandown Park over the distance of one mile, two furlongs and seven yards. The race was first held way back in 1886 and has developed into one of the most elite events on the racing calendar.

When the race was first inaugurated in 1886 it was the richest horse race in Great Britain, thanks to a donation from prominent banker Leopold de Rothschild, and because of this has always been contested by high quality field. The event was named after equine superstar Eclipse who in the eighteenth century recorded eighteen victories from eighteen starts before going on to a successful career at stud.

The honour roll of Coral Eclipse Stakes winners is one of the most impressive for any race around the world and includes a number of racing superstars. Orme (1892, 1893), Buchan (1919, 1920), Polyphontes (1924, 1925), Mtoto (1987, 1988) and Halling (1995, 1996) are the only horses to have won the race on more than one occasion while in recent times the race has been taken out by Sea the Stars, Twice Over, So You Think and Nathaniel.

Alec Taylor is the most successful trainer in Coral Eclipse Stakes history, winning the race on six occasions from 1909 to 1923, while leading Irish trainer Aidan O'Brien has won with Giant's Causeway, Hawk Wing, Oratorio, Mount Nelson and So You Think since the turn of the century.

Like most major British horse races, Lester Piggot is the most successful jockey in the history of the race having won on Mystery IX, Darius, Arctic Explorer, St Paddy, Pieces of Eight, Wolver Hollow and Artaius from 1951 to 1977.

The 2013 Coral Eclipse Stakes is set to draw another star-studded field. Prince of Wales's Stakes winner Al Kazeem is the current favourite in the Coral Eclipse Stakes betting market that also includes Epsom Derby winner Ruler of the World; four-time Coronation Cup winner St Nicholas Abbey and 2011 Melbourne Cup winner Dunaden.

Recent Winners of the Coral Eclipse Stakes:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time



William Buick

John Gosden



So You Think

Seamie Heffernan

Aidan O'Brien



Twice Over

Tom Queally

Henry Cecil



Sea The Stars

Michael Kinane

John Oxx



Mount Nelson

Johnny Murtagh

Aidan O'Brien




Ryan Moore

Sir Michael Stout



David Junior

Jamie Spencer

Brian Meehan




Kieren Fallon

Aidan O'Brien

2:07.00 logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 - All Rights Reserved.