The Ayr Gold Cup

The Ayr Gold Cup is Scotland's answer to England's long tradition of 'Gold Cup' events. Whether it is the Gold Cup at Cheltenham or the Gold Cup at Ascot Racecourse, the Ayr Gold Cup easily holds its own with its southern cousins. It is in fact so popular with racegoers all over the United Kingdom that Ayr Racecourse now hosts a three-day racing festival to celebrate the annual running of the Ayr Gold Cup.

The fixture is run in mid-September, making the most of the glorious early autumn, as the feature event of the Ayr Gold Cup Festival. The race is traditionally run on the last of the three festival days, as the highlight of an action packed meeting.

When the Ayr Gold Cup was established in 1804, entry was restricted to Scottish thoroughbred race horses only and the race was run over 2 miles. Today it is a truly international event for thoroughbreds aged three and older and a sprint race of 6 furlongs. It is staged in conjunction with the Ayr Silver Cup and the Ayr Bronze Cup - with entry into the Gold Cup being reserved for the finest sprinters of the season. The number of starters is limited to 27, a number which is maxed out most years, meaning the Ayr Gold Cup is a helter-skelter race without mercy or consideration.

Currently sponsored by bookmaker William Hill the Ayr Gold Cup is the richest sprinting challenge in Europe. So move over Royal Ascot - it's time for the Ayr Gold Cup Festival, so come and party in Scotland.

Recent Winners of the Ayr Gold Cup:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time



Frankie Dettori

David Nicholls



Jimmy Styles

Frankie Dettori

Clive Cox



Regal Parade

William Carson, Jr.

David Nicholls




Jamie Spencer

Kevin Ryan



Fonthill Road

Paul Hanagan

Richard Fahey



Presto Shinko

Seb Sanders

Richard Hannon

1:12.45 logoOnline Gambling should always be enjoyed responsibly by those of legal age only. If you would like more responsible gambling information, please visit the Gamcare website.

© 2010 - 2018 - All Rights Reserved.